There are no squirrels in Dubai

I never imagined myself as someone who would ever live in a high-rise in a trendy area of town.  The waterfront area in Toronto comes to mind…ugh I really can’t think of a place I dislike more than that.  Tall, uniform, tiny, characterless…  But here I am, having rented one of these type units, in Dubai no less (another place I never thought I’d live)!  I’ve come to realize that it’s pretty important to do things you ‘never thought’ you’d ever do.

And no, I haven’t given up my love for old, creaky, tree-lined, outdoor space, character, vegetable gardens, tea lights at night… When I move back to Toronto, it won’t be to the waterfront but to the Annex where there are trees and gardens and character galore!  But if you step out for a bit, you just might find that what you thought you hated isn’t so bad after all.  In fact, it can be a refreshing change and a chance to grow.  Try it sometime.   You just might surprise yourself.

for me, for you.

Leave a Reply

