you can bury a lot of troubles digging in the dirt

DSC_0013

here we are, part way through a growing season that started pretty late.  still not bad if i do say so myself.  i’ve never been known for my green thumb.  in fact, i always hated working in the garden as a kid.  i was never much into weeding and growing flowers.  but it seems i’ve found a niche in veggies!

sorry for the poor photos.  it’s too dark out to get a good exposure and i’m too lazy to bust out the tripod.  it’s like my photography teacher, tristan, told me – i need an assistant to do it for me.  any takers?

DSC_0001DSC_0014DSC_0010DSC_0011

these photos don’t even begin to scratch the surface of my little garden patch…  i have tomatoes, zuccini, peppers, strawberries, kale, two kinds of spinach, fennel, various herbs…  this is just a little sampling.

gardening is really quite therapeutic.  there. i’ve said it.  it’s going down in the books, or at least into the abyss of the world wide web.  it’s true.  there’s nothing like planting a seed and watching it grow into something amazing that you can then EAT.  what could be better?  kind of like kids i suppose, except plants don’t talk back, take your money and their lifetime is usually only a season.  so plants are better.  i am a convert. i suggest you all jump on board.  there’s no need to buy expensive imports at the grocery store.  why buy tomatoes from cali when you can grow them mere steps from your kitchen?

4 thoughts on “you can bury a lot of troubles digging in the dirt

  1. You are right! I grow and do my own canning. In fact, I am about ready to plant my fall/winter garden. Excellent post.

    • thanks!
      wow, i’d love to do my own canning. when i ‘grow up’ (hahaha) i want to have a root sellar so i can store my harvest from the summer/fall and have it through the winter. thanks for stopping by!

  2. hey anna! lovely blog. miss you. wanted to comment – do we metaphorically eat our kids? do we ingest their experiences and successes and grow emotionally fatter/nourished from them. that is a super interesting way to think about it.

  3. I totally agree with you. I love gardening, its the best stress reliever ever! I just do flowers, no veggies, but nothing is more gratifying than seeing a beautiful flower you planted bloom. Their colours cannot be replicated.

Leave a Reply

